Fighting Hermitism

Yet again I’ve fallen off the blogging horse. I’m not sure if it’s the pressure to be consistent or because I have commitment issues (or a mixture of both). Really, I believe it’s the fear that I don’t have anything worth while to say.

It’s time to shake off my hermit shell, it’s been about three months. Maybe I can stay active a while longer before hibernating again.


Last night, I went to a friend’s graduation from a course she took called the Landmark Forum, which to my understanding is like counseling boot camp. You go for three days, get coached and find what they call your breakthrough.

After buckets of tears and tissues, I signed up for the next one in January. Here’s to shedding the ugly shell of negativity and realizing a better me…

Yea, it sounds cheesy but it’s too late to back out now.


I’m happy to report that while I haven’t been blogging, I’ve been busy writing (the one thing I can’t really give up). Finally finished my novel and started on the sequel ^_^

I’m so excited because I thought I would never see the day I’d complete something, especially so long. I love flipping through my manuscript and just “wow. Yea, I did it.”

A friend is being so awesome and is my beta reader. I haven’t spoken to her since I gave her the manuscript and it’s just eating away at me. Will she like it? Will I have to scoop out a bunch of scenes or just burn the abomination that it is?


I’ve also been writing short stories, which are super fun! I guess I never really realized it, and feel dumb for not taking them seriously. Novels are great, but reading a short story is like instant gratification.a297b454e38ab19556dd1bbfaf6eeece

One of my brothers loves sports video games while I lean towards RPGs (complex story plots anytime :3). When I asked him about it, he said he was easily satisfied, just twenty minutes and the round is over. If you’ve played RPGs, twenty minutes is basically traveling to the next quest point (even cheating with fast travel doesn’t give much time).

I remember once, I tried timing myself, like okay, you’ve got like an hour to play. It was Dragon Age: Inquisition I believe, and that hour was running around foraging and talking to side quest characters and the game didn’t move along at all.

Novels are amazing, immersive, but like RPGs you need the time to fully appreciated all the story has to offer.

Sorry if all this seems like common sense, because really to me it’s like my breakthrough. All those little plot bunnies can just be kept short and sweet, they are now welcomed friends instead of annoying pests.

Guess that’s all for now, and maybe I’ll see y’all next week.

mokona__coffee_break_by_ginitachi

2 thoughts on “Fighting Hermitism

  1. Great to see a blog from you once again. I believe the joy of blogging is that it can be as short or as long as YOU determine. People who care about what you are writing will always simply be glad to know you are there. Wonderful about your novel. Finishing is the first step. It becomes the ground on which you build. (constantly refining etc etc.) I understand where you are…..novel and sequel for me was my (hidden writing life). blogging helps you and others know you are there and your life inspires them also to ‘keep journeying on’. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

